We use cookies to improve your website experience. To learn about our use of cookies and how you can manage your cookie settings, please see our Cookie Policy. By continuing to use the website, you consent to our use of cookies. Close

CHAPTER 2 Implementation of the Convention

Berlingieri on Arrest of Ships Volume 2

Page 6


Implementation of the Convention

Implementation of the Convention

2.01 The 1999 Convention entered into force on 14 September 2011, the tenth “consent to be bound” having been deposited by Albania on 14 March 2011. As of 30 June 2016 the States parties to it were Albania, Algeria, Benin, Bulgaria, Congo, Ecuador, Estonia, Latvia, Liberia, Spain and Syrian Arab Republic. Six of such States, Algeria, Benin, Congo, Latvia, Spain1 and Syrian Arab Republic were parties to the 1952 Convention and therefore should have timely denounced that Convention. Prior to the entry into force of the Convention several maritime States and groups of States, amongst which some of which of significant importance, had introduced in their maritime legislation all or most of the provisions of the Convention of 1999.

The rest of this document is only available to i-law.com online subscribers.

If you are already a subscriber, click login button.