We use cookies to improve your website experience. To learn about our use of cookies and how you can manage your cookie settings, please see our Cookie Policy. By continuing to use the website, you consent to our use of cookies. Close


Insurance Law and the Financial Ombudsman Service

2 THE WORKINGS OF THE FOS JURISDICTION OF THE FOS 1 Compulsory, voluntary and consumer credit jurisdictions 2.1 The FOS now has three jurisdictions: (1) compulsory; (2) voluntary; and (3) consumer credit. It gained its powers and began operating under the first two types of jurisdiction on 1 December 2001. It acquired the third from 6 April 2007, under the Consumer Credit Act 2006, whereby businesses with consumer credit licences issued (and regulated) by the Office of Fair Trading are also covered by the FOS even if they are not also regulated by the FSA.

The rest of this document is only available to i-law.com online subscribers.

If you are already a subscriber, please enter your details below to log in.

Enter your email address to log in as a user on your corporate account.
Remember me on this computer

Not yet an i-law subscriber?


Request a trial Find out more