We use cookies to improve your website experience. To learn about our use of cookies and how you can manage your cookie settings, please see our Cookie Policy. By continuing to use the website, you consent to our use of cookies. Close

CHAPTER 18 Malta

Ship Registration: Law and Practice

Page 197




18.1 Situated in the centre of the Mediterranean some 58 miles to the south of Sicily, Malta is made up of a number of islands, namely Gozo and Comino as well as Malta itself, on which the capital Valletta is located. Malta gained its independence from Britain in 1964, became a republic ten years later and is a member of the Commonwealth. Malta joined the European Union in 2004 and has a population of some 415,000. Malta is a parliamentary democracy with members of the House of Representatives elected for a five-year term by proportional representation. The official languages are Maltese and English. The official unit of currency is the Euro.

The rest of this document is only available to i-law.com online subscribers.

If you are already a subscriber, click login button.