We use cookies to improve your website experience. To learn about our use of cookies and how you can manage your cookie settings, please see our Cookie Policy. By continuing to use the website, you consent to our use of cookies. Close

CHAPTER 12 Cyprus

Ship Registration: Law and Practice

Page 142




12.1 Cyprus is an island situated in the eastern Mediterranean with a population of about 1,170,000. A British Crown Colony from 1925, it achieved independence in 1960. Following an invasion in 1974, approximately one-third of the island remains under Turkish occupation. The Republic is a multi-party democracy with an electoral system based on proportional representation. Under its constitution, the President of the Republic is the head of State and is elected every five years. He appoints the Council of Ministers which is the main executive body of the Republic. The legislative body is the House of Representatives. The Republic became a member of the European Union on 1 May 2004 and adopted the Euro as legal tender on 1 January 2008.

The rest of this document is only available to i-law.com online subscribers.

If you are already a subscriber, click login button.